Become a Member

The Young Nats have been New Zealand’s largest youth political movement since we were founded over seventy years ago. The Young Nats have a strong lobby inside the National Party.

Often the more open minded and liberal views of the Young Nats have been at odds with those in the senior party. The movement in party opinion in areas such as the nuclear ships debate, economic reform, liquor law reform, and anti-discrimination laws has often been led by the Young Nationals.

Famous former Young Nats

Many current National Party politicians began their careers in the Young Nationals. Other former Young Nats are high-ranking party officials and employees, professionals, farmers, successful entrepreneurs and business people. Some of the more famous Young Nats include:

  • Rt Hon Sir Robert Muldoon: Prime Minister of New Zealand 1975-1984
  • Rt Hon Sir John Marshall: Prime Minister of New Zealand 1972
  • Rt Hon Sir Bill English: Prime Minister of New Zealand 2017
  • Hon Ruth Richardson: Minister of Finance 1990 – 1993
  • Rt Hon Winston Peters: Leader of NZ First 1992 – Present
  • Rt Hon Simon Upton: Minister of the Crown 1990 – 1999
  • Hon Dr Nick Smith: Minister of the Crown 1990 – 1999, 2008 – 2017
  • Hon Tony Ryall: Minister of the Crown 1997 – 1999, 2008 – 2014
  • Hon Murray McCully: Minister of the Crown 1993 – 1999, 2008 – 2017
  • Rt Hon Jonathan Hunt OMZ: Speaker of the House 1999 – 2005
  • Hon Simon Bridges: Leader of the National Party 2018-Present